• DCC Boundary Changes

    25 August 2016
    Mel Stride

    AN INDEPENDENT review of Devon County Council (DCC) division boundaries by the Boundary Commission has taken place over the past couple of years and its changes will come into force at the next round of DCC elections next May. Such reviews take place every decade or so to ensure divisions are evenly sized and in this instance DCC has also asked the Commission to reduce the overall number of councillors from 62 to 60.

    The key changes within Central Devon are:-

    West Devon
    Okehampton Rural loses Belstone and gains Okehampton Hamlets.
    Hatherleigh & Chagford loses Okehampton and gains Belstone.

    Mid Devon
    Newton St Cyres & Sandford gains Silverton and is renamed ‘Silverton and Taw’
    Cullompton Rural loses Silverton.

    Exminster & Kenton gains Whitestone and Longdown
    Chudleigh Rural loses Whitestone and Longdown and gains Moretonhampstead
    Bovey Tracey Rural loses Moretonhampstead and gains Ilsington and Buckland-in-the-Moor.
    Ashburton & Buckfastleigh loses Ilsington and Buckland-in-the-Moor.

    Of the 10 County Council divisions within Central Devon only four are wholly within Central Devon. The remaining 6 also have territory in neighbouring constituencies. On the map these are represented by the four light green and six dark green divisions.

    Changes that are outside Central Devon but impact our divisions are not included above but can be found on the Devon County Council website below, along with more detailed maps: